Academic staff

The Faculty of Law attracts high quality academics and we are proud of the teaching and research that they do.

Andrew Stockley, Dean of Law

Our Law School is known around the world for the quality of  the research and teaching its staff provide. Academic research feeds into strong research-based teaching, and as a faculty we are committed to a strong research culture. Our staff publish regularly in leading international law journals. Members of the Faculty of Law are regularly sought after for their expertise in a variety of legal, political and academic pursuits.

Read more about some of the exciting research our staff are doing

If you are a member of the media please see our Media Directory to find a subject expert relevant to your story and to get our media contact details

Faculty Members


Name Phone (DDI) Email
Batty, Rob
923 4370 r.batty@auckland.ac.nz
Bosselmann, Klaus 923 7827 k.bosselmann@auckland.ac.nz
Chamberlain, Nikki 923 1696 n.chamberlain@auckland.ac.nz
Charters, Claire 923 9436 c.charters@auckland.ac.nz
Cogliati-Bantz, Vincent 923 6690 v.cogliati-bantz@auckland.ac.nz
Dawson, Francis 923 9413 f.dawson@auckland.ac.nz
Devonshire, Peter 923 5638 p.devonshire@auckland.ac.nz
Doolin, Katherine 923 2822 k.doolin@auckland.ac.nz
Dunworth, Treasa 923 8008 t.dunworth@auckland.ac.nz
Elliffe, Craig 923 8990 c.elliffe@auckland.ac.nz
Erueti, Andrew
923 8010 a.erueti@auckland.ac.nz
Foster, Caroline 923 5636 c.foster@auckland.ac.nz
Grinlinton, David 923 7230 d.grinlinton@auckland.ac.nz
Havelock, Rohan 923 8020 r.havelock@auckland.ac.nz
Hertogen, An 923 1129 an.hertogen@auckland.ac.nz
Hood, Anna
923 2242 a.hood@auckland.ac.nz
Ip, John 923 2387 j.ip@auckland.ac.nz
Kaho, Helena 923 3760 h.kaho@auckland.ac.nz
Kawharu, Amokura 923 6397 a.kawharu@auckland.ac.nz
Kelsey, Jane 923 8006 j.kelsey@auckland.ac.nz
Kha, Henry 923 8022 h.kha@auckland.ac.nz
Khouri, Nina 923 8268 n.khouri@auckland.ac.nz
Littlewood, Michael 923 5633 m.littlewood@auckland.ac.nz
Manning, Joanna 923 8804 j.manning@auckland.ac.nz
McLean, Janet 923 9720 j.mclean@auckland.ac.nz
Noonan, Chris
923 7444 c.noonan@auckland.ac.nz
Norton, Jane
923 8118 jane.norton@auckland.ac.nz
Optican, Scott 923 5637 s.optican@auckland.ac.nz
Paterson, Ron 923 8028 r.paterson@auckland.ac.nz
Rishworth, Paul 923 8031 pt.rishworth@auckland.ac.nz
Roberts, Marcus 923 8802 m.roberts@auckland.ac.nz
Rosen, Arie 923 6738 a.rosen@auckland.ac.nz
Roughan, Nicole 923 8392 n.roughan@auckland.ac.nz
Sanders, Katherine 923 8005 k.sanders@auckland.ac.nz
Stockley, Andrew - Dean of Law 923 8027 lawdean@auckland.ac.nz
Sumpter, Paul 923 6459 p.sumpter@auckland.ac.nz
Swain, Warren
923 1275 w.swain@auckland.ac.nz
Te Aho, Fleur
923 7240 f.teaho@auckland.ac.nz
Telesetsky, Anastasia 923 4365 a.telesetsky@auckland.ac.nz
Tolmie, Julia 923 7837 j.tolmie@auckland.ac.nz
Watson, Susan 923 5996 s.watson@auckland.ac.nz
Watts, Peter 923 7829 pg.watts@auckland.ac.nz
Wilberg, Hanna 923 4232 h.wilberg@auckland.ac.nz
Williams, David 923 5639 dv.williams@auckland.ac.nz
Willis, Edward
923 9355 edward.willis@auckland.ac.nz
Top
Academic staff_web

Distinguished Fellows


Name Phone (DDI) Email
The Rt Hon. Sir Anand Satyanand +64 9 238 9738 a.satyanand@auckland.ac.nz
Hon. Tony Randerson QC +64 9 923 5393 aran019@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Top

Honorary Professors


Name Phone (DDI) Email
Jeff Berryman Email only j.berryman@auckland.ac.nz
John Farrar Email only j.farrar@auckland.ac.nz
Richard Scragg Email only rj.scragg@auckland.ac.nz
David A. R. Williams QC Email only david.williams@darwilliams.co.nz
Top

Adjunct Professsor


Name Phone (DDI) Email
Mai Chen
Email only m.chen@auckland.ac.nz
Peter Hinton Email only  peter.hinton@simpsongrierson.com
Nick Wells Email only nick.wells@chapmantripp.com
Top

Teaching Fellows


Name Phone (DDI) Email
Dylan Asafo Email only d.asafo@auckland.ac.nz
Bernard Brown Email only c/- s.shaw@auckland.ac.nz
Allan Bullot Email only abullot@deloitte.co.nz
James Cairney Email only james.cairney@auckland.ac.nz
Geoff Clews Email only geoff.clews@taxcounsel.co.nz
James Coleman 04 473 4511 james.coleman@terracechambers.co.nz
Paul Collins    
Bronwyn Davies 923 3840 bronwyn.davies@auckland.ac.nz
Paul Dunne    
Matthew Flynn    
Kim Francis    
Lotu Fuli Email only l.fuli@auckland.ac.nz
Justin Graham
Email only justin.graham@chapmantripp.com
John Hart 307 3327 john.hart@tax-trusts.com
David Harvey Email only dj.harvey@auckland.ac.nz
Bill Hodge 923 8033 wc.hodge@auckland.ac.nz
Jayden Houghton Email only jayden.houghton@auckland.ac.nz
Barnard Hutchinson   b.hutchinson@auckland.ac.nz
Roderick Joyce Email only roderick.joyce-qc@auckland.ac.nz
John Land
379 1513 john.land@bankside.co.nz
Mike Lennard 027 438 1604 mike.lennard@stoutstreet.co.nz
Julian Long    
Denham Martin    
Stewart McCulloch 355 8751 stewart.j.mcculloch@nz.pwc.com
Jo Murdoch    
Jack Oliver-Smith    
Stephen Penk 923 6436 s.penk@auckland.ac.nz
Casey Plunket Email only kcplunket@gmail.com
Stephen Price    
Aaron Quintal    
Rosemary Tobin 923 7369 r.tobin@auckland.ac.nz
Peter Vial Email only peter.vial@charteredaccountantsanz.com
Tracey Whare Email only t.whare@auckland.ac.nz
Nick Williams Email only nick.williams@meredithconnell.co.nz
Top

Research Fellows


Name Phone (DDI) Email
Sylvia Bell 923 5389 sbel003@auckland.ac.nz
Bruce Harris 923 8032 b.harris@auckland.ac.nz
Tómas Kennedy-Grant Email only t.kennedygrant@auckland.ac.nz
Ken Palmer 923 7828 ka.palmer@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Emeritus Professors


Name Phone (DDI) Email
Professor Brian Coote   c/- s.shaw@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Jim Evans   pj.evans@auckland.ac.nz 
Professor Dick Webb   c/- t.ryan@auckland.ac.nz
Top