Deputy Dean appointed to Tax Working Group

01 February 2018
Professor Craig Elliffe image

Professor Craig Elliffe, Deputy Dean of the Auckland Law School, has been appointed a member of the Government’s Tax Working Group.

Chaired by Sir Michael Cullen, the Working Group has been established to look at the structure, fairness and balance of New Zealand’s tax system.

Professor Elliffe is Director of the New Zealand Centre for Law and Business as well as Director of the Master of Taxation Programme at the University of Auckland. He was previously a tax partner at KPMG and Chapman Tripp. His research areas are in the field of international tax, corporate tax, and tax avoidance.

He joins Joanne Hodge, former tax partner at Bell Gully; Kirk Hope, Chief Executive of Business New Zealand; Nick Malarao, senior partner at Meredith Connell; Geof Nightingale, partner at PwC New Zealand; Robin Oliver, former Deputy Commissioner at Inland Revenue; Hinerangi Raumati, Chair of Parininihi ki Waitotara Inc; Michelle Redington, Head of Group Taxation and Insurance at Air New Zealand; Bill Rosenberg, Economist and Director of Policy at the CTU; and Marjan Van Den Belt, Assistant Vice Chancellor (Sustainability) at Victoria University of Wellington.

Following consultation, the Working Group will report back to the Ministers of Finance and Revenue by the end of September 2018, and issue their final report by February 2019.