Auckland success at Jessup Moot

04 May 2017
Jessup team
From left: Andrew Grant, Gretta Schumacher (Coach), Katie Eichelbaum, Tiaan Nelson, Michael Greenop, Jack Davies (Coach) and Andrew Stockley (Dean of Law)..

The University of Auckland has represented New Zealand at the Philip C Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition in Washington DC, with the team claiming four awards and one of its members named overall best speaker at the competition.

The Jessup Moot is the most prestigious moot court competition in the world. The Auckland team, comprising Andrew Grant, Michael Greenop, Tiaan Nelson, Katy Eichelbaum, with coaches Gretta Schumacher and Jack Davies, placed second in the world after the preliminary rounds. The team then progressed past the first knockout round before being narrowly beaten in the top-16 round.

Andrew Grant was ranked best speaker in the competition from over 650 competitors from 143 countries. Michael Greenop was ranked as the third best speaker overall. The team also placed second for its applicant memorial, and was named best applicant team overall for its speaker scores and memorial scores combined.

These results came after the Auckland team also won the European Friendly pre-moot in Budapest, Hungary in March 2017. This marked the first time New Zealand had competed in a Jessup pre-moot and saw the team remain undefeated before beating Austria in a close final.

The Dean of Law, Professor Andrew Stockley, congratulated the team members on their success. “To have won the best applicant team, best speaker in the world, and third best speaker awards are outstanding achievements. The Auckland Law School is very proud of Andrew, Michael, Tiaan, Katy and their coaches Gretta and Jack.”

The team and coaches would like to thank the Law Foundation for its support throughout the competition, both in Washington DC and in Budapest. They would also like to thank Hon Justice Ellen France, Hon Christopher Finlayson QC, Professor Andrew Stockley, David Goddard QC, David Jones QC, Stephen Mills QC, Adam Ross, Isaac Hikaka, Sean Kinsler, Susanne Ruthven, Elana Geddis, Jonathan Orpin-Dowell, Kim Murray, Associate Professor Treasa Dunworth, Associate Professor Scott Optican, Anna Hood, An Hertogen, Carter Pearce, Sam Jeffs, Caitlin Hollings and Crane Brothers for their valuable support in judging and advising the team in the lead-up to the competition.