Greg Everard Mooting Final

10 September 2013
GReg Everard moot 2013
Front: Nick Dobbs, Tim Conder (winner), Madeleine Everard, Louise Everard, Frances Everard, Justice Murray Gilbert (presiding judge), Thomas Clark. Back: Gretta Schumacher, Rohan Havelock, Dean Andrew Stockley, Chris Booth (Kensington Swan).

The 10th Greg Everard Memorial Mooting Competition has been won by fifth year law student, Tim Conder.

Held at the Auckland High Court on the evening of 21 August, the moot was presided over by Justice Murray Gilbert who attended law school with, and later worked alongside, the late Greg Everard. To mark the 10th anniversary of the competition, a cocktail function for those involved was held at the offices of Kensington Swan the week before the competition final.

The Greg Everard Memorial Mooting Competition is sponsored by Kensington Swan and was established in memory of Greg Everard, an alumnus of the Auckland Law School and a leading barrister. Greg joined Kensington Swan in 1993 and specialised in civil litigation. He excelled in the discipline of mooting.

The four finalists in this year’s moot, Thomas Clark, Tim Conder, Gretta Schumacher and Nick Dobbs were selected from 16 contestants participating in preliminary rounds over three nights, judged by Rohan Havelock (Faculty of Law), Tyrone Cooley (Kensington Swan) and Michael Robertson (Robertson Law).

The winner of the moot is awarded a prize of $2,500. Since its inception in 2003 — through the generosity of Greg's family, friends and colleagues — the Everard Memorial Moot has enabled competitors to test their appellate advocacy in hypothetical civil litigation.

With an audience of fellow law students, friends, family, Faculty of Law staff and members of the Everard family, the contestants argued a problem concerning the liability of a solicitor for negligence and breach of fiduciary duty arising out of his conduct in advising on an agreement to divide up assets reached between family members with different interests.

Tim Conder commented that: "It was an excellent evening to commemorate an excellent lawyer and I was honoured to be selected as the winner. I hope this moot can continue to be as challenging and rewarding in the years to come."