New Zealand Centre for Law and Business


Business image

About the Centre


The New Zealand Centre for Law and Business has as its primary aim the goal of facilitating interdisciplinary research connecting law and business, with a strong focus on the interface between the two.

The Centre focuses strongly on maintaining and building links and collaborations with the local legal, accountancy and business community, other research centres in New Zealand and overseas, as well as individual scholars at the University of Auckland and outside whose research falls within the field of law and business.

The New Zealand Centre for Law and Business also seeks to promote teaching and research which falls within the remit of the Centre. This includes both the business law elements of the Master of Laws (LLM) and its associated programme the Master of Legal Studies (MLS). Another important area of law is that studied in the Master of Taxation Studies (MTaxS) programme, which is designed for both law and commerce graduates who intend to make tax advocacy or tax consulting their career and who wish to extend their understanding of the theoretical issues and legal structures that underpin the taxation system.

The Centre also aims to establish and promote publications in the field of law and business.

 

Our people


The Patron of the New Zealand Centre for Law and Business is Sir Peter Blanchard. The Directors oversees the day-to-day activities of the Centre. The current Directors are Professor Craig Elliffe (Chair), Professor Julie Cassidy and Marcus Roberts. Other members comprise Auckland Law School, Business School academics and honorary members.

Centre Directors


What's coming up


Numerous events are held in Auckland by the Centre including conferences, lectures and seminars. To be notified by email of upcoming events, please contact lawevents@auckland.ac.nz

Recent past events

2017

What is in the Cards for the US Tax Reform?

Equity Crowdfunding

Reinterpreting Islamic Law on Issues from Women to War

Global Financial Ethics in the Age of Trump

India, China and Turbulence in International Trade Law and Policy

The future of tax: The profession and tax policy

 

Professor Martin Ruf, professor of International Business Taxation at the Business School of the University of Tuebingen in Germany, presented on Taxation and International Mergers and Acquisitons in late February 2017.

Does copyright law in New Zealand support innovation, and has it kept up with changes in the internet and other technolgies? Our seminar, hosted by InternetNZ and the Department of Commercial Law on 21 February 2017, explored those questions.

 

2016

Town and Gown Seminar: May 2016

Town and Gown Seminar: August 2016

Major Conference 2016

Australasian Consumer Law Roundtable 2016

 

An event was held in early September 2016 to mark 30 years of GST in New Zealand.

Emeritus Professor John Carter presented a public lecture titled: The New Law of Penalties; which coincided with the launch of "Carter's Guide to New Zealand Contract Law" on Wednesday 19 October 2016 in Auckland.

Publications


The members of the New Zealand Centre for Law and Business have written extensively in the field of law and business. A full list of publications can be found under the individual profiles of Centre members.  

 

Professor Andrew Stockley

 
Professor Craig Elliffe c.elliffe@auckland.ac.nz
Mr Rob Batty r.batty@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Mark Bowler-Smith m.bowler-smith@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Julie Cassidy julie.cassidy@auckland.ac.nz
Ms Nadia Dabee n.dabee@auckland.ac.nz
Mr Francis Dawson f.dawson@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Peter Devonshire p.devonshire@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Michael Gedye m.gedye@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor David Grinlinton d.grinlinton@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Gehan Gunasekara g.gunasekara@auckland.ac.nz
Mr Rohan Havelock r.havelock@auckland.ac.nz
Dr An Hertogen an.hertogen@auckland.ac.nz
Mr Michael Josling m.josling@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Amokura Kawharu a.kawharu@auckland.ac.nz
Mr Mark Keating m.keating@auckland.ac.nz
Ms Nina Khouri n.khouri@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Michael Littlewood m.littlewood@auckland.ac.nz
Mr Benjamin Liu b.liu@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Joanna Manning j.manning@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Janet McLean j.mclean@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Chris Nicoll c.nicoll@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Chris Noonan c.noonan-comc@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jane Norton jane.norton@auckland.ac.nz
Huigenia Ostik h.ostik@auckland.ac.nz
Mr Marcus Roberts m.roberts@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Arie Rosen a.rosen@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Alexandra Sims a.sims@auckland.ac.nz
Mr Paul Sumpter p.sumpter@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Warren Swain w.swain@auckland.ac.nz
Mr Alan Toy alan.toy@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Susan Watson s.watson@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Peter Watts pg.watts@auckland.ac.nz
Mr Gordon Williams g.williams@auckland.ac.nz

Contact us


For more information, contact the Director, Professor Craig Elliffe, at the Auckland Law School.

Auckland Law School
The University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019
Auckland Mail Centre
Auckland 1142
New Zealand

Craig Elliffe
Email : c.elliffe@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 (0) 9 923 8990